2022 General Assembly Minutes



Date:  Thursday 15.9.2022 Time: 12.30-13.30 (CET time)

Location: Auditorium Level 0, Convention Center Palais Du Pharo – Marseille, France

Attendees: List of attendees is given seperately


General assembly (GA) was opened at 12.30 (CET) by secretary general Ulvi Gürsoy.

  1. Election of Chairperson, Secretary and Tellers

Ted Lundgren was elected to chair the assembly and Ulvi Gürsoy to take the minutes. Miks Lejnieks and Henrik Berlin were voted as tellers.

  1. Approval of the General Assembly being duly notified and of the agenda

Agenda was sent to NOF members two months before (July 6, 2020) the General Assembly. Agenda was accepted.

  1. Annual report of the Board of the Association

Vilma Brukiene presented the Board’s report. Members were informed with 1) updates on the revisions of NOF bylaws, 2) contribution of NOF to 2022 NYSCO meeting, 3) efforts of the board to increase the number of young NOF members, and 4) coming activity plans. Report was approved bythe GA.

  1. Report of the Councillors

Ulvi Gürsoy presented the Councillors’ report. Members were informed that 1) the IADR councillors’ meeting was organised virtually on June 15, 2022, 2) two NOF members (Timo Närhi, University of Turku, Finland and Siddharth Shanbhag, University of Bergen, Norway) received prestigous IADR awards in 2022, and 3) the three IADR statements on the use of fluoride (1-Community water fluoridation, approved, 2- Individual and professional methods of fluoride, approved, 3- Dietary fluoride supplementation, not approved). Report was approved by the GA.


  1. Accounts

a) Accounts of the Journal

Accounts of the Journal was presented by Ulvi Gürsoy. Ulvi informed the GA that 1) subscription income is decreasing while non-subscription income is increasing, 2) production costs are stable, 4) the fee to Wiley is increased, and 5) overall there is a decline in NOF profit. Accounts of the journal were approved by the GA.

b) Accounts of the Association

Accounts of the Association and the annual report of 2021 was presented by Nina Sabel. Nina informed the GA that 1) there is a decline in the number of NOF members (277 in 2019, 230 in 2020, and 209 in 2021) and 2) the net profit of the association was slightly less than in 2020.


Vilma brought the Board’s proposals 1) to raise honorariums of secretary general and treasurer with 20% and 2) to reimburse the board members’ congress registration fees for the annual meetings, as board members official duties including participation to General Assembly or to opening ceremony requires congress registration, to the General Assembly.


Accounts of the association, annual report of 2021 and Board’s both proposals were approved by the GA.


  1. Budget for the coming year

Board proposed that there will be no change in the membership dues for the year 2022. Budget proposal for 2022 was approved by the GA.


  1. Time and Place of future Annual Meetings


June 21-24, 2023, 101th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, XII Meeting of the Latin American Region, Bogotá, Colombia

September 21-23, 2023, CED-IADR/NOF Oral Health Research Congress, Rhodes, Greece


March 13-16, 2024, IADR General Session, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

September 18-21, 2024, CED-IADR/NOF Oral Health Research Congress, Geneva, Switzerland (NOT YET CONFIRMED)


June 25-28, 2025, IADR General Session, Barcelona, Spain


March 25-28, 2026, IADR/AADOCR/CADR General Session, San Diego, California, USA


PER-IADR meeting in Riga, Latvia


  1. Elections

Vilma informed the GA that the Secretary General’s term will end at the end of 2022. In addition, a new member for Iceland need to be elected as Jonas Geirsson informed the board that he won’t be able to serve at the NOF Board for the coming term. Board proposed current secretary general Ulvi Gursoy to continue for the next term and Lára Hólm Heimisdóttir as the NOF board member for Iceland for the term 2023-2027. Both proposals were approved by the GA.



  1. Hatton Award

Gunhild Strand presented the NOF Hatton Award announcement and application procedures for the year 2022 to the GA. She informed that there winners will be announced at the opening ceremony of the meeting.

  1. Any Other Business

No other business.


Ulvi Gursoy was taking the minutes.




Miks Lejnieks (Teller)                                              Henrik Berlin (Teller)





Ted Lundgren (Chair)                                                    Vilma Brukiene (President)