2020 NOF General Assembly Minutes


Date:  October 27, 2020 Time: 18.00-19.00 (CET time)

Location: Zoom-meeting

Attendees: List of attendees is given seperately


General assembly (GA) was opened at 18.00 (CET) by secretary general Ulvi Gürsoy.

  1. Election of Chairperson, Secretary and Tellers

Gunhild Strand was elected to chair the assembly and Ulvi Gürsoy to take the minutes. Ilze Akota and Nina Sabel were voted as tellers.

  1. Approval of the General Assembly being duly notified and of the agenda

Agenda was sent to NOF members one and half months before (September 7, 2020) the General Assembly. Agenda was accepted.

  1. Annual report of the Board of the Association

Gunhild Strand presented the Board’s report. Members were informed with 1) the new board members, who stepped in 2020, 2) the decision to postpone Pan European Region (PER) of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) meeting, which was planned to take place in Marseilles, France in September 10-12, 2021 3) 2020 NOF Hatton award competition and NOF travel stipend arrangements, and 4) the decrease in the number of members. Report was approved bythe GA.

  1. Report of the Councillors

Ulvi Gürsoy presented the Councillors’ report. Members were informed that 1) the IADR councillors’ meeting was organised virtually on March 17, 2020, 2) IADR Council selected New Orleans, Louisiana, USA as the location for the IADR General Session in 2024, and 3) IADR Council selected Barcelona, Spain as the location for the IADR General Session in 2025. Report was approved by the GA.


  1. Accounts
  2. a) Accounts of the Journal

Accounts of the Journal is presented by the Editor-in-Chief Vibeke Bælum. Accounts of the journal were approved by the GA.

  1. b) Accounts of the Association

Accounts of the Association was presented by Nina Sabel. Accounts of the association were approved by the GA.

  1. Budget for the coming year

Board proposed that there will be no change in the membership dues for the year 2021. Budget proposal for 2021 was approved by the GA.

  1. Time and Place of future Annual Meetings


July 21-24, 2021, 99th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

September 16-18, 2021, CED-IADR/NOF Oral Health Research Congress, Brussels, Belgium


June 22-25, 2022, 100th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, 5th Meeting of the IADR Asia Pasific Region, Chengdu, China

September 15-17, 2022, PER-IADR Oral Health Research Congress, Marseille, France


June 21-24, 2023, 101th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, XII Meeting of the Latin American Region, Bogotá, Colombia


March 13-16, 2024, IADR General Session, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA


June 25-28, 2025, IADR General Session, Barcelona, Spain


GA was informed by Gunhild Strand that the planned 2023 PER IADR meeting in Riga was posponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic-related changes in IADR’s calendar. It is also announced that the proposed meeting year is 2027, however this new date requires IADR’s approval.

  1. Elections
  2. a) Board member of Denmark (2021-2025)

Anne Marie Lynge Pedersen’s (Denmark) period at the NOF board ends at the end of 2020. GA received two applications for the Board member of Denmark position: Associate professor Fábio Leite from Aarhus University (proposed by Siri Beier Jensen, Denmark) and Professor Anne Marie Lynge Pedersen from University of Copenhagen.

Before the election, voting procedure was discussed. Following the by-laws and Association’s traditions, its agreed that all GA participants attend the election. Fábio Leite withdrew from the election and Anne Marie Lynge Pedersen was elected as the board member of Denmark for the period 2021-2025.

  1. b) Treasurer (2021-2025)

Board proposed that Nina Sabel continues her position as NOF treasurer for the period 2021-2025. Proposal was approved by the GA.

  1. Hatton Award

Gunhild Strand presented the NOF Hatton Award announcement and application procedures for the year 2020 to the GA. She informed the GA that after scientific evaluation by the board-assigned review commitea, Sarah Kamounah from University of Copenhagen, Denmark and Håvard Hynne from University of Oslo, Norway were selected as the winners of the 2020 NOF Hatton award. These to winners will represent NOF in the IADR Hatton award competition, which will be held in conjunction with the  99th General Session of the IADR, the 50th Meeting of the AADR and the 45th Meeting of the CADR (Boston, Mass., July 21-24, 2021).

  1. Any Other Business

No other business.



Ulvi Gursoy was taking the minutes.



Nina Sabel (Teller)                                                        Ilze Akota (Teller